Visit to Model Rail Live 2013

On 21st September, I visited Newark Showground in Nottinghamshire for Model Rail Magazines exhibition. The venue was a large metal industrial-type unit, which afforded lots of space for layouts and traders.

There were lots of models on display, with some really impressive large layouts. I must admit that some of my favourites were of the smaller variety. Sparkle, was probably my favourite: which is a HO Gauge, German layout set in winter. The barren trees are very effective, and the subtle use of glitter also adds a lot to the overall winter scene. Plus there were some nice little steam locos on show.

It was also nice to see Deepcar again, which now features some newer motive power in the form of Olivia’s Trains EM1s. One of the highlights of the exhibition was seeing two LMS garratt’s passing each other on Radford Mill; I was lucky enough to film it (does this make me a model-train spotter?).

My second favourite layout was ‘The end of the line’ which featured a standard gauge siding with a narrow gauge system loading up the trucks. There was even a moving flat-loader truck (which inspired my current workbench project: a 4mm radio control car).
Exhibiting at a show like this must be quite a challenge. It is something that I have considered doing, but I’m in no rush to dive-in.

Below is my video of the show.

Leave a Reply

