Y10 Super Sentinel 3D Print

I have always had a thing for the rolling stock of the Wisbech and Upwell tramway. I have almost finished development of my BR 04 Shunter tram and I have already built both a J70 tram and Y6 tram. The one loco missing from my fleet is the Y10 Super Sentinel: A double cabbed tram that only ran on the Wisbech and Upwell for a limited time. A kit of this loco was produced by Impetus many moons ago, but you are probably more likely to find a pot of treasure at the end of a rainbow than ever see one of these Impetus kits available.

The Y10 is a relatively simple design and I had started work developing a 3D model for printing using the Blender software, but I then noticed that someone had produced a freelance OO9 version for 3D printing on the Shapeways website. To my delight there was also an ‘upscaled‘ version of the OO9 to OO gauge and I decided it was a good starting point.

The moulding is nice and rigid, and it has a wealth of detail inside the printed cab. Granted there are a few things I need to sort out. The cab doors are overly wide, but they should be easy enough to reduce down (understandable as this is a ‘blown up’ OO9 model). I also need to produce the cow catchers.

I’m really happy to finally have one of these models.

Have a look at Tebee Models other loco prints: http://www.shapeways.com/shops/tebee

Leave a Reply

