Five Shunter Challenge Pt9: Keeping track

You might be wondering how I manage to remember where I am on all these different kits I am building and why I have (as yet) not lost any parts.

The main reason is that I keep each kit in a transparent plastic box. I have a current subscription to a set of die-cast cars and I use the plastic display cases to store each loco.

I also tick off each section or put a line through each section of the instructions that I have completed for each loco.

I also have a little modelling note book where I write down what I am doing and any troubles I am facing with the kit.

I know that all of this might sound obvious, but if you are like me, you can spend most of summer away from your modelling desk and when you eventually return to it, you just can’t remember what an earth you were doing. Keeping everything in separate boxes has really helped me keep track of all these different projects.

2015-01-02 14.48.14LR

x5 Shunter Challenge Progress

BR Class 02 Diesel ShunterDJH

Chassis block folded. Compensation fitted. Axles Fitted.

Sentinel post war 100HP 0-4-0VBT – RT Models

Chassis block folded. Compensation fitted. Axles Fitted. Gearbox fitted.

Ruston & Hornsby 88DSJudith Edge

Chassis block folded. Compensation fitted. Axles Fitted. Gearbox fitted

11001Judith Edge

Chassis block folded. Compensation fitted. Axles Fitted.

English Electric/Hawthorn Leslie 0-6-0DEJudith Edge

No progress

P.S. If there are any aspects of x5 shunter challenge that you want me to cover (be it soldering, equipment… anything at all) please do leave a comment or contact me by email. I will reply. You can also follow me on twitter for instant updates.

Leave a Reply

